top of page
  • Writer's pictureNathan T. Beard

A Photo Book on Rollerskating

If you had asked me 5 years ago, 2 years ago, hell, 6 months ago that I would have a published photo book on quad skating I wouldn't have believed you but I would have thought it would be a fun idea.


Photographing Quad Skaters for the past 2 1/2 years has taken me to some incredible places and it has led me to meet some of the most amazing people from all over the U.S. and a couple from Europe and Australia. I have made such amazing friends who I can't thank enough for believing in and putting up with my photography. Whether it was waking up for super early sunrise shoots, to road tripping for hours to hit as many skate spots as we could in one day, to trudging through dirt, grime, urine puddles, black stagnant water just to skate and photograph hidden gems in secret areas. A lot of hours, blood, sweat, maybe a tear or two have gone into making this book possible and I wouldn't have been able to do it with each and every one of the people in the book plus all the people who aren't. I wanted to add more but that's what a second book is always for right? This also couldn't have been possible without my wife, Sarah, with all the time I spent away from home traveling on a regular basis to go shoot and understanding and believing in me the whole way knowing that I was pursuing something I loved to do. I am going to continue photographing quad skaters and meeting more people and I hope that I don't ever have to stop.


I am also fortunate enough to have been interviewed by Dog Days Magazine (an international skating magazine based in Germany) about the book and highlighting what drove me to make it. It's a great quick read if you want a little insight on the book and what it means to me.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page